South Dakota Elections
2014 South Dakota Senate Election  


South Dakota

Electoral Votes:  
  Dennis Daugaard (R)

    The will be held on Tuesday, June 3rd, 2014.
    The will be held on Tuesday, June 3rd, 2014.
    The will be held on Tuesday, November 4th, 2014.
    The Senate seat currently held by Tim Johnson will be up for election in 2014. 
    The gubernatorial seat currently held by Dennis Daugaard will be up for election in 2014.  More
    South Dakota Secretary of State, Division of Elections
    Democratic Party of South Dakota
    Republican Party of South Dakota

   Election 2014 The South Dakota Senate seat to be contested is currently held by democrat Tim Johnson.
   2014 Election Tim Johnson was sworn in on January 3rd, 1997 and is serving his third term in office.
   2014 Election Tim Johnson is eligible for re-election in 2014 but has announced that he will not run.

2014 South Dakota Democratic Primary Senatorial Candidates

Rick Weiland

Businessman and former staffer for Tom Daschle
Declared Democratic Candidate      Weiland campaign website

Kevin Artz

Withdrawn Democratic Candidate     

Henry "Joe" Sinkie

Farmer, rancher and small business owner
Withdrawn Democratic Candidate     

Stephanie Herseth Sandlin

Former U.S. Representative from South Dakota
Declined Democratic Candidate     
2014 South Dakota Republican Primary Senatorial Candidates

Dr. Annette Bosworth

Declared Republican Candidate     Bosworth campaign website

Stace Nelson

South Dakota State Representative
Declared Republican Candidate     Nelson campaign website

Jason Ravnsborg

Declared Republican Candidate     Ravnsborg campaign website

Larry Rhoden

Majority Whip of the South Dakota Senate
Declared Republican Candidate     Rhoden campaign website

Mike Rounds

Former Governor of South Dakota
Declared Republican Candidate     Rounds campaign website

Kristi Noem

U.S. Representative from South Dakota
Declined Republican Candidate    
2014 South Dakota Third Party Senatorial Candidates

Gordon Howie

Former Republican State Senator
Declared Independent Candidate     

Larry Pressler

Former three-term Republican U.S. Senator
Declared Independent Candidate      Pressler campaign website


The inclusion, removal, candidacy status and political positions of all candidates will be periodically reviewed and updated until the 2014 midterm elections. Feedback, suggestions, comments and/or corrections should be directed to our editorial staff